positive practice awardsPeople working in mental health services have a month to get their applications in to the National Positive Practice in Mental Health Awards, which celebrate positive practice among professionals in the sector.

This will be the first time in several years that the awards have been held. Pharmaceutical firm Roche is supporting the awards, as well as the NHS Confederation, NHS Employers, The Royal College of Psychiatrists, The Mental Health Network, The Mental Health Foundation and Westfield Health.

There are 12 awards in total, three aimed at individuals; lifetime achievement, making a difference and mental health leader. 

The remaining 9 awards for are for teams or services in:

• Mental health and criminal justice
• Mental health and primary care
• Innovative services
• Partnership working
• Dementia care
• Patient experience
• Art, health and mental wellbeing
• Commissioning for outcomes
• Caring for the emotional health and mental wellbeing of staff.

Anyone working in the statutory, independent and voluntary sectors, as well as those using services and caring for those who do, can apply for the awards. The judging panels will comprise people working in and using statutory and voluntary services, and will be co-ordinated by Breakthrough. 

For more information and to access the application form, go to www.positivepracticeinmh.com or email breakthroughmh@hotmail.co.uk and an application form will be forwarded to you. The closing date for entries is July 21.